March 8, 2016 - Special



March 8, 2016


The special meeting of the Stanley County Commission was called to order at 5:03 P.M.(CDT) by Chairman Dana Iversen with Commissioners Dennis Booth, Scott Deal, Craig Heller and Sonny Harrowa present. Also present were State’s Attorney Tom P. Maher, Stanley County Middle/High School Principal Tom O’Boyle and Ag/FFA teacher Andrew Jensen, Highway Superintendent Lee Smith, American Legion Post 20 Chris Forster, Randy Slama, Reed Stoeser, Capitol Journal Lee Zion, KCCR Kevin Larsen, and Auditor Philena Edwards. The meeting commenced with the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.


AGENDA: Motion by Sonny Harrowa, second by Scott Deal, to approve the Agenda.  All voted Aye. Motion Carried.


Stanley County School FFA: Tom O’Boyle and Andrew Jensen thanked the commission for their time. They would like to expand the FFA and animal science programs by having more hands-on activities for the students. They would like to board small livestock close to the school so the students can have a better understanding of a real animal. The fairgrounds would be ideal with the barns and its closeness to the school. The commission all agreed and will meet at a later date to discuss more details.


Highway Department – Gravel Crushing Bid: The gravel crushing bid from Morris is older than 12 months. Motion by Craig Heller, second by Sonny Harrowa, to publish Notice to Bidders for Gravel Crushing. All voted Aye. Motion Carried.


Lee Smith stated that our screener is wore out, would like to rent one for a month to get some gravel screened while Lee looks for one to replace the county’s old one.


Stanley County Post 20 – Sport Complex: Motion by Sonny Harrowa, second by Scott Deal, to accept and approve Chairman Dana Iversen to sign the Lease Agreement between Stanley County and American Legion, Stanley County Post 20. All voted Aye. Motion Carried.


Adjournment: Motion by Dennis Booth, second by Craig Heller, to adjourn at 5:55 P.M. All voted Aye. Motion Carried.



ATTEST:                                                                     BOARD OF STANLEY COUNTY COMMISSIONERS


Philena Edwards, Auditor                                                  Dana Iversen, Chairman

Physical address

Stanley County Courthouse
08 E 2nd Avenue
Fort Pierre SD 57532

Mailing Address

Stanley County Courthouse
Auditors Office
PO Box 595
Fort Pierre SD 57532